Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

 

How can we help?

Greno Woods
Sheffield, England, S35 8RS
United Kingdom

07927871192

At Howl we specialise in journeying skills, the Bushcraft we practice and teach is that of the traveler. There is a wonderful simplicity that comes from taking a trip in the outdoors, a pragmatism gleaned from necessity. We draw from this experience in the field to teach a set of skills and knowledge based in expedience and realism, skills that actually get used while outdoors. We provide an insight into the Natural world, opening up a vast array of natural resources and knowledge to help you travel with less reliance on the contents of your rucksack: it’s what you carry in your mind that matters.

 

 We teach these practical skills in a friendly and open way, our hope being to enable you to make your adventures into the Great Outdoors memorable and enjoyable. We'll help you cultivate a positive attitude, a confidence in yourself, and a connection with the natural world through which you travel.

We promote the utmost respect for the environment, the ability to pass unnoticed through the woods brings with it a deeper understanding of the wilderness, and our part in it. It is this philosophy which forms the very core of our work.

We promote the utmost respect for the environment, the ability to pass unnoticed through the woods brings with it a deeper understanding of the wilderness, and our part in it. It is this philosophy which forms the very core of our work.

IMG_2579.JPG

Reviews & Testimonials

Below are a few quotes and reviews collated from our guests over the years.

 

Reviews

 

Facebook Reviews: Here

 

"What a wonderful experience I had last weekend. Jamie's passion is infectious and made me determined to get the whole family to enjoy the outdoors.
I thought everything was well organised, the food was fantastic and the actual skills learnt invaluable. I will definitely be a returning customer. Thanks Howl Bushcraft!"

Simone- Itinerant Bushcraft Course 2018

 

I had a great day with Jamie Dakota from Howl Bushcraft learning how to erect a Tarp and Hammock and carve a spoon. Jamie was very professional in the way he delivered the course. I found it easy to learn from Jamie and felt very comfortable in the way he explained things to me, I soon picked it up! He was very patient and took time to make sure I had understood what he was teaching. The course was awesome, an experience to remember and I booked to go on another course with Jamie, a walk through woodland at night time which was really exciting and I learnt loads again. I will always go back to Howl Bushcraft because I have been with other very well known bushcraft training schools and they didn’t have the same quality of training I received with Howl Bushcraft. I will always go back to Jamie for a course on Bushcraft because from my experience I have found him very professional and he has a real wealth of knowledge on the subject.

Kind regards Phil Foster - November 2017.

"Love this photo, you gave us all your time and knowledge so patiently, adapting to what we needed depending on skill, age and mood!! A tough ask with grown ups, teens and tots all learning together.

We arrived excited and nervous, and left walking on air! Quote from Evie Mae as we walked out the woods 'that was awesome!'. Thank you Jamie for a fantastic experience so many memories to last us a lifetime (but hope we'll all be back sooner!)." Julie Brian October 2016

"Really enjoying Forest Craft. We have find the stick man each week and have made Smelly cocktails, used colour palettes in nature, pond conservation, built shelters but each week we try out Jamie's tinder to light a fire! Used thistle fluff, waxed cotton wool pads, fire lighter and next week birch bark. After all my hard work all they want to do is see if Jamie Dakota's tinder will work and they know where to get dry fire twigs from. Thank you so much Howl Bushcraft for your great training the children are loving their afternoon's outside."

Jacky swift September 2016

"There are not many 8 yr olds who can carve tent pegs, set up a tarp, make a pot hanger, find and grade and prepare all fuel for a fire using natural resources! (Make a feather stick), Find & Purify water, not to mention brave enough to try eating pigeon, smoked eggs make Bannock bread, make nettle cordage, AND THEN SLEEP OUTSIDE IN THE WOODS! Loving living this life with my son and super impressed- massive thanks to Jamie Dakota for being the perfect host and most excellent tutor"

Ruth Weir August 2017.

"Had a brilliant day cooking. Loved the Mozambique flat bread. In fact everything was great. I can't wait to try some of the new ways of cooking outdoors. Such an eye opener!! Your knowledge on the history of cooking and flours is astounding- I was extremely impressed. Thank you again!! Looking forward to the utensil day now."

Sarah Parker March 2017

 

"Had a great time cooking on Saturday with a Howl Bushcraft & Kindle Woods, thanks Jamie & Katy. Looking forward to trying out the recipes with my forest school groups in York!" Emma Hill March 2017

 

 "We had the most fantastic day with Jamie. His expert tuition, relaxed style and enthusiasm made for a great getting away from it all experience . it was great to spend such quality time as a family, away from modern life . It really showed up what a good team we are as a family . The location, equipment and advice are excellent. I can't praise the day or Jamie enough! Thanks so much for organising it for us . 6 hours in the woods were too little. Shelter building, wood gathering, cooking pizza outdoors and making fires! I loved it and the kids were enthralled . so proud of us all working as a team. Lets do it again!" Anna Burnam June 2017

 

Jamie ran a tool use and greenwood working training day for us. He was professional, fun and highly informative. As the organiser for the day he made my job easy and was able to pitch the day at the exact right level for the participants. The feedback was excellent from everyone. So on behalf of Bradford community environment project and Bradford forest school network a big thankyou

Posted by Jennifer Scott on Monday, 21 March 2016
“What a fabulous and chilled course , Jamie is patient, incredibly knowledgeable and very personable. Would highly recommend to anyone .Thanks again, I’m even going into the rain to collect more bramble to finish my basket off !! Vanessa”
“Easily one of the best courses I have been to, the woodland was beautiful yet easy to access - made even better by the snow on the second day. The way the course was delivered was easy to follow yet very detailed I left feeling very confident that I could take away the skills and actually use them - a rare thing. But what really made the weekend great was the food! Not only was the food great, but it was refreshing for meals to be prepared and eaten communally rather than everyone scurrying off to their own campsite to eat alone as usually happens on similar courses. I will definitely be back to learn more!" Peter F.

— https://www.youtube.com/user/ArdethVillyan

“Thoroughly enjoyed this course yesterday (even in the rain!)- I’m a trainee Forest School leader and I needed to get some practical skills and this really helped give me the confidence I needed to develop my skills even further. I feel like I learnt loads in a day and Jamie was a very patient and flexible teacher. Excellent day, brilliant instructor, magical woodland. Hayley S”
“What a super duper day spent in the woods with the lovely Jamie Dakota from Howl Bushcraft! We made bramble baskets and yummy hawthorn leather! Top day!! Hayley G”
“I had a fab time helping to build the round house. As a Forest School practitioner, I decided to take part, not because I had any need to learn how to build a roundhouse but because I wanted to spend a chunk of time outside in the woods, doing something physical and constructive. I wanted to be with like minded people and to use a few new tools and to work on a large scale collective project. All of my needs were met. What was really pleasing was that with a group of 5 male and 3 women participants with two male trainers/leaders there was no ‘macho’ or shovenistic behaviour, not that I would have expected this from working with Tom, but there’s not accounting for participants from the general public. We all got on with the tasks e.g carrying heavy logs used as posts and beams for the main frame and using an axe and draw knives. A really enjoyable project to be involved in, with great hospitality and friendly and knowledgeable trainers. I’d happily sign up for another (winter might not be my preference!!)

Well done Tom and Jamie, good luck with more of the same

Julie”
“I loved walking into the camp and being warmly welcomed. I can’t tell you how proud I was of making my spatula & spoons. It felt like a safe secure positive relaxed learning environment - all praise to you for making it that way.”
“Excellent. The course was planned & delivered exceptionally well with each person having personal support from Jamie & Tom to advance their individual skills at each stage of the spoon making. You made me feel like I’d achieved and offered appropriate challenge to improve. The safety precautions were really well explained and reminders given - this helped with embedding my mindset as I approach the task and will stay with me. I’m delighted with what I have made and learnt. Thank you both for your welcoming and supportive good natures too.”
"What a fantastic bloke incredible knowledge perfect environment to learn and enjoy your experience can't recommend this guy and the courses enough thanks jamie." Nick Hyde May 2015
"Great experience with a great instructor. Come away knowing the correct way to go about bushcraft and leaving no trace. Highly Recommended."  Jamie Roberts May 2015